The incisors are the front teeth on the upper and lower tooth arches. There are eight incisors in the mouth of every person. These incisors are further classified into four types:

  • Maxillary central incisor

  • Maxillary lateral incisor

  • Mandibular central incisor

  • Mandibular central incisor

Maxillary central incisor

These the two front teeth of the person which exist in the upper tooth arch. The upper tooth arch is called the maxilla. The maxillary central incisors are the most prominent teeth of all. The main function of the maxillary central incisor is to cut the food for eating.

Maxillary lateral incisor

These are the two teeth which are located just after the maxillary central incisors on the maxilla. The basic function of the maxillary lateral incisors is also to cut food during chewing.

Mandibular central incisor

The mandibular central incisors are the two front teeth which exist in the lower tooth arch or the mandible.

The mandibular lateral incisor

These are the two teeth which exist right after the mandibular central incisors on the mandible.

Related articles.

Displaying 1 to 5 of 18

Saliva gland

The salivary glands are the glands which produce saliva. Saliva is the water-like and frothy substance which is produced in the mouth. The saliva is 98% water, and the other 2% consists of other substances. The saliva supports in the digestion process and also prevents tooth decay by breaking down t .... read more


The jaw is the bony structure which exists in the entrance of the mouth. This structure consists of segments which are held together by joints. The jaw is primarily used for manipulating food and grasping functions. The jaw comprises of the lower jaw bone, which is called the mandible, and the upper .... read more


The tongue is a muscular structure in the oral cavity which has many functions such as supporting in the chewing of food, helping to make sounds and speaking, etc, this function is called phonetic articulation. The tongue is the chief organ of taste because it contains taste buds. The tongue remains .... read more


The palate, which is most commonly known as the roof of the mouth, is the structure which separates the oral cavity and the nasal cavity. This is the upper wall of the oral cavity. Palates are of two types, the hard palate and the soft palate. The hard palate exists in the anterior position, while t .... read more

Permanent molars

There are twelve molars in the mouth.  The molars are the most intricate kind of teeth and these exist at the rear of  the mouth. These teeth are effectively used for grinding the food prior to swallowing. The molars exist in sets of three teeth on each quadrate, this means three molars on the right .... read more

Oral Health by Regions


Oral Health Knowledge Base